Friday, March 19, 2010

Kick-Ass With Music From The Motion Picture - Soundtrack Album to Be Released March 30th

When a teenage comic book fanboy's obsession takes over his life and he becomes a costumed super-hero named KICK-ASS - with no super-powers whatsoever - the results are the twisted, funny, high-octane adventure movie that opens in U.S theatres on April 16th. Preceding the movie on March 30th, DGC/Interscope Records, a unit of Universal Music Group, will release the soundtrack album KICK-ASS: MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE.

The KICK-ASS soundtrack album opens with "Make Me Wanna Die," the first official commercial release by new Interscope recording group The Pretty Reckless. The band is fronted by singer-songwriter Taylor Momsen, who is also one of the stars of CW's hugely popular TV series, Gossip Girl. The release of The Pretty Reckless debut album on Interscope is slated for June 22nd; two days later the group joins the 16th annual Vans Warped Tour 2010 for its two-month trek, running through August 15th.

In addition to The Pretty Reckless, the KICK-ASS soundtrack album features the brand new title track by multi-platinum selling artist MIKA, who goes head-to-head with producer of the moment RedOne (Lady Gaga/Little Boots). The album's heady mix of tracks spans the '70s to the '00s, with songs from the New York Dolls, Sparks, the Dickies, Primal Scream, the Prodigy, the Little Ones, 2010 BRIT Award-winner Ellie Goulding, and Japan's Zongamin.

KICK-ASS, presented by Lionsgate and MARV, stars Aaron Johnson (who played teenage John Lennon in 2009's Nowhere Boy) as Dave Lizewski, aka Kick-Ass. The plot thickens when he encounters Academy Award winner Nicolas Cage as the mysterious vigilante Big Daddy. He is working with his 11-year old sword-wielding dynamo daughter Hit Girl (played by Chloe Grace Moretz of (500) Days Of Summer) to bring down the local drug baron Frank D'Amico (Mark Strong of Sherlock Holmes). As Kick-Ass inspires a subculture of copycats, a friendship is forged with another fledgling crimefighter, Red Mist (Christopher Mintz-Plasse of Superbad).

The comic book world is already buzzed for KICK-ASS, after early footage was shown to wildly appreciative fans at the giant Comic-Con in San Diego last July 2009. The world premiere of the film on March 12th, the opening night of SXSW (South By Southwest) Conference in Austin, Texas was also met with an uproarious response from fans, who have kept the chat rooms and message boards ablaze with anticipation since the films release was first announced.

KICK-ASS, based on the groundbreaking, ongoing, best-selling Icon comic book written by Mark Millar and John S. Romita jr, was written for the screen by Jane Goldman & Matthew Vaughn (Stardust). The movie was directed by Vaughn, and was produced by Vaughn, Brad Pitt, Kris Thykier, Adam Bohling, Tarquin Pack and David Reid, with Pierre Lagrange, Stephen Marks, Mark Millar, John S. Romita jr, and Jeremy Kleiner as executive producers and Jane Goldman as co-producer. KICK-ASS is a privately financed independent production from Vaughn's MARV Films and Plan B.

Album track list:

01 The Prodigy - Stand Up
02 Mika vs RedOne - Kick Ass
03 Primal Scream - Can't Go Back
04 The Little Ones - There's A Pot Brewin'
05 The Prodigy - Omen
06 The Pretty Reckless - Make Me Wanna Die
07 The Dickies - Banana Splits
08 Ellie Goulding - Starry Eyed
09 Sparks - This Town Ain't Big Enough For Both Of Us
10 New York Dolls - We're All In Love
11 Zongamin - Bongo Song
12 Ennio Morricone - Per Qualche Dollaro In Piu (For A Few Dollars More)
13 The Hit Girls - Bad Reputation
14 Elvis Presley - An American Trilogy


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.